Mission Statement

We believe that we are called to be Doorkeepers of the House of the Lord to ensure that every person is greeted with a warm welcome, and seated comfortably. We are also alert to actions surrounding the church and the congregation (such as fire or sickness).

Vision Statement

The usher vision is three-fold

  1. To increase the total number of committed Ushers
  2. View all ushers practicing radical hospitality
  3. To be unified in all areas within the ministry of ushering


…Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere: I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.  Psalm 84:10

Focused Prayer

May we, in Church today fulfill our assignment in a CHRIST-LIKE way? Effective in each and everything we do. Understanding the way we feel, to be helpful in our attitudes: Make us co-workers with the pastor, the church musicians, the teachers, the members, and most of all Lord, with Thee. In the Name of Jesus, WE pray.


  1. Prepare the next leader of the Ushers’ Ministry (AN ONGOING MINISTRY)
  2. Recognition banquet every third year (Give flowers while they can be seen)

Practice Radical Hospitality

  • Responsibilities of each office documented
  • Different techniques in Ushering practiced regularly
  • Provide written guidelines for all ushers

Fellowship activities

  • Cook-outs
  • Trips
  • Game nights
  • Mentoring Activities

Recognition banquet

  • Keep a current list of all who have been honored.
  • Keep a current membership roster.
  • Keep a current list of those recognized by the organization


  • President                       S. Frances Glenn-Chalmers
  • Vice President              Sandra R. Hines
  • Recording Secretary     Gwendolyn Stewart
  • Financial Secretary       Olga Morency
  • Treasurer                       Dorrit Marshall


  • Mamie Dorsey O’Neal – Christopher Dunston – Anna Ekpenyong – Jeffrey Jackman – Wanda Hale Jones –  Edna Little James Pinckney – Deloris Rodriguez –  Dorothy “Mae” Smith -Christine Spencer

Honorary Ushers

  • Charles Dawson – Walter Mitchell, Sr.

In 2022, we were saddened by the passing of Clarence Hogan Jr., and Estella Jones, however; we remained grateful to God for the time he allowed them to share in ministry with us.